top of page
Search
  • Erin McLaughlin

The Rise of The Comedy Underdogs: From Stand Up NY to Fallon

Updated: Nov 6, 2019



A lot of talented, up-and-coming comedians have started out on Stand Up NY's very own stage. Jay Jurden is a perfect example: he started at Stand Up NY's Comedy Mob audition (spoiler alert: he won) and was recently featured on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. Stand Up NY has a lot of home-grown talent. You can see that at their Saturday Comedy Mob: Bring It shows at 6:00 P.M. and this upcoming Sunday at their Get Made show.


I spoke to three comedians performing at Get Made: Kristen Alberts, Omar Scruggs, and Shafi Hossain. I asked them: "What would it feel like to get passed at Get Made?"

Kristen Alberts:

I think it would feel great to have a home club in New York. I made the big move a few months ago from LA and if I were to win it would make me feel like I’m on the right track. Having a home club is huge because you can become more familiarized with other comics in the city and you have a place to perform and workout new material in front of great crowds which would be amazing.


Omar Scruggs:

I think it would feel like winning the 100 meter dash in the Olympics. A great sense of accomplishment. I think it would feel like winning the 100 meter dash in the Olympics. A great sense of accomplishment.


Shafi Hossain:

It would be nice to get more spots.





18 views0 comments
bottom of page